Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2010-01-11 - 2:09 p.m.

Assignment: First, describe the place in which you grew up by showing what it is not. The place where I grew up is not, for example, a ski resort. It is not wealthy. It is not a place where you'd see anything other than American-made cars. The people who live there are not pretentious.

Then, show what that place is, actually, like. For example, the place where I grew up looks, on a topographical map, like a tablecloth pushed together from both sides. The hills, in the summer, look like long heads of broccoli. The streets and the roads follow the rivers and the old railroad beds. Often, there is one route to get from here to there, and no more than one.

That's my assignment for tonight.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!