Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2010-01-18 - 12:06 p.m.

Here's something I think about quite a bit: can earnestness and a sense of humor coexist? I look at my close friends, who are very funny people. Sometimes ascerbic, sometimes a little mean, but very funny, and always smart. They are capable of sincerity or earnestness but don't show it often. I've always felt that pull, I realize, when around very funny people, the need to perform a bit, to be as funny or funnier. Funny is certainly not a bad default social setting, though I must confess that sometimes it feels like hard work. What's also true is that total earnestness always feels like it needs shot through with some funny, some lightness, some not-so-serious. Taking one's self too seriously, and all that.

Sometimes it feels like there are many, many paths and that there is something to like about many of them. To eliminate has always been hard for me. What I'm saying is that I've always been a both-sides-are-right kind of person. It's true I have a hard time deciding things.

I am still working on the description of the town where I grew up. I like it. I like how it sounds. Describing the shit out of something is a nice thing. It's cleansing. It's exhausting, in the best way. You exhaust yourself on the subject of a thing. And when you know a lot about a thing, the results can be good. You hope, anyway. There is a lot of hope involved. I suppose that's true in many things.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!