Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2011-11-15 - 11:30 a.m.

Driving in on the big highway today, I crested a hill and saw, far ahead, a giant creeping blackness. Yellow lights were flashing, and as I crept closer, I saw that it was some type of huge, girded steel structure, resting atop a flatbed tractor trailer. Orange flags festooned the thing. It could be a structure for space travel, or for deep-sea mining, something fantastical and involved with whatever's just on the edge of what humans are capable. It looked like a great big, mobile Event. A thrill shot through me. My eyes grew wider, my posture more erect, my heart just a beat faster. As I got level with the huge steel movingness, I finally saw what it was, and that's a different story, but the important thing is the thrill that I got, the feeling of differentness, of a red letter in the mailbox, the sense that today might be exquisitely different from all these others.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!