Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2011-08-24 - 11:14 a.m.

It's true, the ground shook yesterday. It was, by far, the most interesting thing that's ever happened in this big cube of glass. I thought, at first, that the window-washers were banging on the glass, with giant cushioned mallets, trying like maniacs to bring the whole thing down. When the rumbling grew, I thought the huge air-conditioning units on the roof must be shaking from their housings and on their way to exploding, the chunks of sheet metal and copper guts whirring off into insanity. Then I thought: a jet has crashed. This happpened in about four seconds. When the rumbling grew still, I put my wallet in my back pocket and ran outside. There was no one else, yet.

I slid my bike from the rack and when I rode the loop, I saw all the same glass cubes, all the same parking lots, but also the thousands of people, and that was a new thing. They were clustered in brightly colored groups, talking on their cell phones, outside in the August sun. We were together in this thing, but we were alone, too, in the awkward embrace of our makeshift families.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!