Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2020-09-30 - 9:13 p.m.

First little backyard fire of the season tonight, and a mile away, the motorcycles scream on I-83, headed downtown, to the whatever the night brings. Over here, behind our rowhouse, the night-shifters empty their restaurant trash into the dumpster, the heavy lid banging shut when they're done. Upstairs, period-piece sci-fi shows are getting watched. By the chiminea, I'm thinking about my brothers, about this story about high school love I'm trying to turn from clay into pottery, and you, out there, are breathing, tinkering, napping, eating cookies. It's not all terrible. Life finds a way. And, just now, a train whistle blows. Even the regular can be good, can soothe, can sing.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!