Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2014-08-16 - 10:49 a.m.

A book blew me away last night. Stayed up late, sitting outside, to finish it. Dark, of course, and so I clamped a tiny flashlight between my teeth and went like that for a long while, the little light dim by the last page but somehow making it. Really a stomach-punch of sadness and beauty. I guess that's a pretty potent combination. Stoner, the novel's called, by John Williams. He died maybe twenty years ago, this writer. It's a fake biography, nearly, a deep-diving one, of a lower-level English professor at a midwestern university in the first half of the 1900s but the guy's sorrows and joys are so much bigger than that. I will be thinking about it for a while.

I'll be thinking about it on the plane ride to Honduras. Flights leaves at 4:30 in the morning. I did not know flights went that early, but they do.

1 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!