Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2012-11-16 - 12:17 p.m.

I think I have an affinity for bands from Scotland or at least northern England: The Beta Band, The Futureheads, this band Django Django. So weird and jangly and catchy. I like their energy. Skinny-boy jocular aggression, or something.

I'm off today. Sunshine on the deck. Ninety more pages to write, and the big decisions are ahead of me. I think my boy and my girl are going to have a brief moment of sunshine on the deck, too, of fingers tracing lines on calves, of sharing a glass of something, of using a toe to change the buttons on a stereo. But, I think, it will get taken away. This makes me pre-sad, but I think it has to happen.

And then a whiskey party tonight. "Beer discouraged," the invitation said. Like much of urban America circa late 2012, I find this both interesting and annoyingly precious. I feel pretty firmly that we have too many choices and I really do wonder if they thought this same thing when humans first got radios in their living rooms.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!