Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2012-05-14 - 11:42 a.m.

I've become a student of black people. They are my brothers and sisters, but we grew up with different mothers, and so we're the same while still coming off as strange to each other.

Yesterday, paid $12, nestled myself into a packed movie theater, to watch the newest comic-book-based action thriller, and it was great: funny, fast but not too fast, exciting. And the place really was packed. No empty seats. To my left was an older Indian couple and to their left were two young guys, both black kids, and they did it all. When the Hulk smashed up the bad guy, they screamed, "Shiiiit." When Captain America bashed several bad guys with his shield, they screamed, "Naaaaah." When the Hulk called a bad guy a punk ass, they shouted, "Punk ass!"

And I already knew all of these things about my brothers and sisters, but yesterday I saw them afresh: they are loud, sure, and they have a good time, and they're like me, only a little less bottled-up.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!