Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2011-10-20 - 3:05 p.m.

In the past three weeks, I've seen the following:
- a black snake, its body thin but its small head all business
- twenty deer or maybe ten twice or perhaps five of them over and over, but in any case an abundance of nervous, antlerless deer
- countless Canada geese, overhead, headed south
- a fox, at night, and which I can only describe as: sauntering
- and, now, an opossum, on the side of the road, wounded and lethargic but still alive, not bothering to avoid me and my bike, and all of it heartbreaking precisely because the little nocturnal thing was so disinterested in something it should be interested in, that thing being, of course, me.

There's something at work here, and that thing is autumn, and it reminds me that the trait that defines us all, or should, is this: movement.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!