Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2011-07-12 - 3:58 p.m.

Some announcements:

- It's hard to write about music. It's harder to write about the feeling a particular song gives you. For example, in the summer of 1997, I lived in Ocean City, Maryland, with my older brother and his best friend. I was young and they were old enough that I thought they were the coolest people I'd ever meet. We listened, almost exclusively, to Biggie Smalls' double album Life After Death. We played video games until the sun came up, crashed hard, went to the beach to cook ourselves, showered and went to the restaurant in work shirts still wet from the washer. Then we'd drink and smoke and play video games until we crashed. All the time, we bobbed our heads to that album. We were trying to feel a little hard. By the end of the summer, I was brown, and I knew every word.
- The band Rush, it is absolutely certain now, is not cool. They are not a cool band. They are not.
- It is hard to look cool while playing the piano in a rock band. It is hard to sound cool while talking about playing the piano in a rock band. It is even harder to sound cool while talking about playing the synthesizer in a rock band.
- My forearms are very tanned. My upper arms, the part that hides below the sleeve, are not.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!