Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2010-11-23 - 12:15 p.m.

Just now, incredibly, I heard someone singing the Death Cab for Cutie song "Soul Meets Body." She sang it softly, under her breath, and to hear this song in this place is like hearing English when you're far away from home. You listen, and you can't believe it, and then you really listen, and then you're sure. It gave me chills to hear this song, a song at once about both living and dying, especially because this place is precisely in the middle of those two. This place where I spend so much of my time is neither hot nor cold, neither here nor there, neither alive nor dead. There's a line in that song that goes, "And if the silence takes you then I hope it takes me, too." There's nothing like that here, neither part of it. There's no silence, only static, and until this morning, there was no music. And there's no love like that here, nothing even close.

I wonder about office stories. I wonder if they're inherently boring, or could one happen that knocks your socks off? What could happen when you take a world so white and clean and calmingly humming and inject it with somebody following somebody else into the silence of forever? I bet it could work. Such a story, I bet, could somehow liberate this place. Such a story, if good enough and tough enough and full-up with enough love, could maybe even engage in something like salvation.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!