Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2010-09-10 - 7:31 p.m.

I love the act of rediscovering. Or, even better, discovering something you should've discovered a long time ago. This happens to me all the time. To wit: oak trees. I mean, shit. They're great. Big, fat acorns this year, big buttery green things that make a noise when they fall. And the word: oak. It's great. I've been around oaks all my life but I never cared about them, confused them with other trees, or just looked through them. Their leaves are simple and strange and full of lobes. They are sensual and tall and strong and there's a rank in the military that has an oak-leaf cluster as its symbol. Clearly, then, I'm not the only one. I love finding stuff that's been there the whole time. Sometimes, the world is endlessly patient, if you let it.

2 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!