Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2010-05-16 - 12:13 a.m.

Back from a cookout and lots of babies, lots of toddlers. Kids everywhere. Kids spilling soda and kids busting down little trees that weren't supposed to be busted down. A precocious little girl on a tree swing who reminded me of Esme from the Salinger short story, who asked to see the photos after I'd taken them. And a five-year-old boy with elaborate hearing aids so big they broke my heart. Dusty backyard games and the Preakness on TV for three fast minutes. The window, in the living room, so old the glass is wavy. Little black girls out on the street riding bikes too big for them. A keg of beer out back, and beef and pork on the grill. No baseball on the radio but instead dudes in flip-flops, talk of real estate, big silver watches on their wrists. Girls in sundresses, painted toes, freckles on their shoulders, little ones on their hips.

Out of here for a week. Off to a sunny place.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!