Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2009-06-21 - 10:52 a.m.

Off to Utah for a week. A forestry friend, who got a doctorate at Utah State, has recommended some hikes. He is from the East Coast, too, aware of my notions of mountains, and so described a particular range in this shorthand: "Big fucking mountains." I've been looking at maps and I love the names there. Wasatch, Uintah, Provo. I've been to the southern parks, and camped in a state park called Dead Horse Point. It was beautiful there, but dry and you could see how a horse might die there. That was also the last time I saw a double rainbow.

But, there is homework and I've not done any of it. I guess I can read this stuff on the plane. I've taken a look at the 18 or so manuscripts and it looks like my group is mostly women, mostly middle-aged, based on what they're writing about. There are two other dudes, both older than me. And there's another assignment, which has turned me off since I found out about it. Our teacher lady wants us to list ten things we don't remember. This all starts tomorrow and I still don't know what to make of it. I fear dreamcatchers and beads and talk of creative spirits and muses and stuff. I don't really go in for that. But I'm not paying anything for this, so I'm in for whatever they've got. There are readings at night and panels and stuff. I get to meet with an agent, one on one.

The train to the airport leaves at 11:53 a.m. Flight to Chicago. Another flight to Salt Lake City. A shuttle car to Park City. Four days there, and then a shuttle to Salt Lake, where I'll stay a night and walk around, figure out if all this talk of strange liquor laws really is true, and then home.

I like traveling by myself, I think. There is so much to figure out. Fulfillment in finding the right vehicle, the right seat.

1 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!