Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2009-04-27 - 4:43 p.m.

Well, spring, I suppose. You blink and it really is here. On Friday, I made a point to take a long walk outside (while at work; there are few trees where I live). On Friday, the woods were still all tentative green, tender-shoot green, little-clumps-of-leaves green. You could see through the woods, mostly, twenty or fifty or a hundred trees in. But this weekend it was bona fide hot outside and we've had some rain and so today, 48 hours later, everything about those same woods is screaming, hey, I'm alive and I'm doing fine. Ants and flies and little green guys who jump out of your way. Petals and dangling oak things and small-small bugs floating just in front of you. The smell of green, of reproduction, of a turning-over. I ran my hand along a railing hoping that I'd see some yellow and when I stopped running my hand along the galvanized steel I turned it over and there it was: yellow powder in every crevice, every line, everywhere it could, possibly, go.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!