Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2008-08-21 - 1:34 p.m.

Things that are pretty good:

- Anything that's age-worn but which still functions just right or even better than when new. Examples are guitar fretboards, old stairwells such as the ones I remember from my high school (with furrows from where your feet go), church pews, wooden baseball bats, baseball gloves, stick shift knobs, keyboards of almost any kind, and leather wallets. And, I don't know, if I were into them, probably old pistols.

- Sending gifts to people, in the mail.

- The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz.

- Seeing an Orioles game from the left-field upper deck, exactly four rows from the top.

- The Miranda July story "Roy Spivey" and also everything of hers I've read.

- Thinking, while falling asleep at night, of feelings or states of being that deserve to have their own names, like the feeling of knowing you're going to miss something while the thing is still happening.

- In general, the time, every night, during which I try to fall asleep.

- Being able to suss out the meaning of an unfamiliar word by breaking that word apart and comparing it to stuff you already know. English teachers all over the world probably just got a warm feeling in their earlobes, as I typed that.

- Memories, or, the act of remembering, mostly.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!