Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2007-06-12 - 11:33 a.m.

Some randoms:

At the show at the Ottobar the other day, listening to a band called Soft, a polished band that sounded like the Verve or the Stone Roses or the Doves, I had a thought that's the first line to something or a line of dialogue or a title to something, which is, "The point at which you stop believing that rock and roll can change the world." I don't know what that means.

Also, I'd like to write a short story or some kind of made-up thing of whatever length, where a man gets on a bus or a train and sits across from a girl who is quietly crying. Why is she crying? Is he going to say something to her? How long can this crying go on? Will he try to make her laugh, and so on. I like the immediate tension of that situation.

The part in The Arcade Fire song, "Intervention" where he says "Who's gonna throw the very first stone?" always gives me chills, up my back and into the bottom of the back of my neck, where those specific hairs are.

A line from Zadie Smith's "White Teeth," in which a mother burns her son's records and T-shirts after she sees him on a TV newscast that shows him participating in a mass burning of Salman Rushdie's "The Satanic Verses": "Either everything's sacred or nothing is."

Been riding my bike three or four days a week, about two miles. It's a fast burn, though, and I get to slow up traffic as I do it, so that's pretty fun.

Random within a bunch of randoms:
Cynicism = the great destroyer? Maybe.

I got, in the mail yesterday, a check for two hundred fifty dollars, for words I'd written. And I didn't even mind reading the editor's edits. She's mostly right.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!