Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2007-03-21 - 10:11 a.m.

So I took the day off today. I woke up late, later than is workplace-acceptable, and called my boss and gravelled up my voice and said I had a cough and a sneeze and that I would see her tomorrow. I just got a year older and I'm making up little stories about why I'm staying home when the real answer is that I want to wear jeans and thermal long-sleeved shirts and sit cross-legged on my bed and try to do create something where before there was sleep.

Hemingway was my first love. Sometimes I catch myself thinking like him. Tobias Wolff, in his novel Old School, has the high-school-aged characters write little Hemingway rip-offs in order to win a writing contest in which Hemingway comes to the school and meets with one of the boys. I think. Something like that. Anyway, at one point, Wolff has one of the boys write something about the meatloaf in the cafeteria and it goes "...The meatloaf in the cafeteria is good. It's good and when it's gone it's not there any more and you can't do anything about it. You can't bring the meatloaf back because it's gone. But the meatloaf was good while it lasted..." Sort of like that. That makes me laugh, to think that way. I read an old interview with him a few days ago, and even when he's talking about his signature style, he's talking, aloud, in that clipped, stripped voice. Sometimes it's so tight-fisted it's maddening.

So I've got a day in front of me. I went out and got some coffee and from the looks of the big trucks and the trailers with four little doorways on the side with the steps leading up to them, it looks like they're filming The Wire again. I've yet to see that show in any volume, but people are talking.

Played frisbee golf yesterday, for the first time in months. It's not running and it's not swimming, but I ran half of it and cold air has a home on the inside of the human nose.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!