Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2007-02-03 - 6:32 p.m.

I am in the teepee in Mrs. May�s kindergarden classroom and Mandy Billiard is in there with me. We�ve been learning about Indians and earlier we made headdresses out of turkey feathers that this kid Sparky's dad brought in. He killed the turkeys himself. That�s what Sparky said. After that, we had milk and now Mrs. May has let us do whatever we want.

I raced for the teepee and Mandy Billiard came in after me. She wears glasses because one of her eyes is crooked, but she�s cute. She�s got dark hair cut short like Dorothy Hamill�s and she smells good, like some kind of candy.

�What do you want to do?� Mandy asks.

�I don�t know.�

She reaches around me for the plastic bucket of dried corn. Indians ate a lot of hard corn. They ate popcorn and killed buffaloes. They lived in teepees. I don�t know any Indians. Mandy holds a handful of corn in front of me. �Take one and make a wish.�

Mandy�s staring at the corn in her hand but I�m staring at her nose, which is little and has a scab on the tip from where a bug bit it.

I have an idea. I take a kernel of corn and throw it out the hole in the teepee. I yell, �atomic bomb!� I started playing catch with Dad in the front yard this year and so I know how to throw. Also, I know what an atomic bomb is.

Mandy laughs when I do this, so I do it again. �Atomic bomb!�

Mandy squeals and throws what�s left in her hand out the hole in the teepee.

�Atomic bomb! Atomic bomb!� The corn goes everywhere. Some of it goes under the shelves for toys like Legos. Some of it goes under the door to the girls� bathroom. Some of it goes all the way to Mrs. May�s feet. She walks over fast. She doesn�t usually walk like this. She leans over, poking her head in the teepee hole.

�What do you think you�re doing?� She�s looking at Mandy.

�He started it,� she says, pointing at me.

�But I only threw a couple.�

Mrs. May stares at me. My ears feel hot.

�I�m sorry,� I say.

�There is to be no more throwing of atomic bombs,� Mrs. May says. She straightens and leaves.

Mandy leans in and kisses me on the cheek. She smells like sour apple Blow Pops. That�s it. That�s what she smells like.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!