Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2006-04-10 - 9:12 p.m.

I called in sick today, though I was not feeling sick. Instead, I worked on an essay about the job I did not go to today. Two of my roommates are leaving to live with their girlfriends, and so today, while I was working at my makeshift stand-up desk (a length of wood on top of two chairs, stacked seat-to-seat), they finished cleaning out their rooms. A new guy, Yuri, is moving in this weekend, and Katherine will move in a little after that. It's a little sad for me because the two guys leaving are two of the original guys from this place and so it's really feeling like the passing of an era and all that. When I moved in here four or five months ago, I knew it was a short-term fix, and now I'm starting to wonder if it's best for my disposition if I leave this place with all its memories and smells and find me a regular single-bedroom apartment. In any event, I met Yuri a few days ago and he's just a supremely nice guy: goofy and self-depracating and funny and weird. And Katherine's very cool. She's tall and thin and quiet and she's a welder. She melts edges of pieces of metal until they make larger pieces of metal. She used to drive a 1984 royal blue Ford pickup. It was Cool And Prone to Breaking Down.

We, along with old college friends, are seeing Ladytron in DC on Friday. I don't know much about this band but I'm told they are fun. I'm breaking into eBay by bidding on an incredibly expensive--for me--digital camera. It's got, like, 2d18h left in its bid life, but so far I'm the winner. I like to take pictures, but a few months ago I realized that I'd take a lot more if I had a quality digital camera and so if I get it I sort of hope to be the Guy Who's Always With His Camera. In other technology news, today on my new iTunes program I made a playlist called "Perfect Pop." I don't know what it is, it must be something monkeyish and elemental, but some straight rock songs just have got the right chord progression. This mix has these: Taper Jean Girl by Kings of Leon, Eskimo by Versus, and Mambo Sun by T. Rex. All of them: Songs to which I shall shake my ass.

Visiting the girl's parents for Easter next weekend and the weekend after that I'm up to West Virginia to do some fishing with my dad and older brother. I'm going to need to get a reel and some line, etc. for the fly rod. And hip boots, which are just great things.

Ostensibly, what I'm really trying to do right now is finish this new essay, which would put my manuscript up to 200 pages, and send the thing out to some of these university presses.

I'm also excited about the movie that Nate and I want to make. He's got a camera and a computer and I've got a script, sort of. We're going to get Kevin and his crew to build us some simple set stuff. I'm most excited about the kind of still-shot cutaways that Wes Anderson does a lot of in The Royal Tenenbaums, the shots of book covers when the narrator is talking about the characters' history, that sort of thing. I hope we copy this technique in a blatant way. And we watched "The Squid and the Whale" last week. The day after, my girlfriend sent me an email the next day that said, "I'm glad you're not like those people."

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!