Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2016-10-05 - 10:51 p.m.

We had some mice, unusual for the summer, but there they were: brown flashes out of the corner of your eye, and in the mornings there'd be droppings on the stove, on the countertops, behind the toaster. And so we tried all the usual things, all the traps, the steel wool in the cracks. We told the dog: hey, there's one. I cleaned everything, got rid of all the food, scrubbed the big wooden cutting board so many times you could kiss it. But nothing worked.

And so we put down some of those glue traps, the ones people have opinions about, and they worked. They worked four times. And glue traps are not a one-part thing but instead are a two-part thing, and the second part was the part I alone did. And so, out back, on the concrete patio, I brought down the butt end of a hatchet, on four little heads, the thump each time saying the same thing, saying: little guy, I'm sorry.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!