Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2014-12-04 - 1:54 p.m.

It occurs to me that, just as progressive people in progressive places like major cities or in college towns are proud of advancements such as the legalization of same-sex marriage or lightened laws for weed, conservative people in places like the Deep South or in the Rockies must have similar pride, but just reversed.

Obviously am generalizing here but I just find that sort of balanced equation interesting. That the university professor in Boston and the stay-at-home mother in rural Alabama feel that they are at the forefront of positive change and the last defender of what's right in the world, respectively.

It just strikes me, is all, the singular confidence that can arise in a human being when that person is sure he or she is right. There's nothing else quite like it. And I'm jealous of those people. Sometimes I am. Because less and less am I one of them.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!