Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2011-12-21 - 1:19 p.m.

I guess I'm all right at this language, but this other one I'm trying to learn, not yet. Seems to me that you've got another language down when you can joke in it. Subtlety and shades and double-meanings. I can't come even close to that. I'd like to try, though. I'd like to be able to read One Hundred Years of Solitude, for example, in the original language. One things's for sure: in the English (and I assume in the Spanish, too), that's a tough book to throw yourself into, all the way through. It's like reading a river. You don't really know where you are, but you are more or less carried along. I'm 125 pages in, and I have long forgotten who's who. I need an organizational chart. Perhaps this is why the internet was invented, or it is what it's best at? The filling of obscure needs.

I'd love it if that's how the internet was titled, as if it were a semi-scholarly nonfiction book:

The Internet:
The Filler of Obscure Needs
Everyone, ed.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!