Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2011-11-02 - 2:44 p.m.

Does anyone else feel split in several directions when driven to put something onto the internet? I do, and I only just began a Twitter account and just began using Facebook like everyone else does. I suppose this feels too personal and too possibly damning, and so I'll write this here:

Am in the middle of grading four longer essays to be discussed tonight. Had two left, and picked up an essay by a Smart But Naive Indian Girl. She's a better writer than the other student, who is a Tall, Chatty Korean Girl. I thought it was the Korean girl's essay, and was grading it as such, but then looked up and saw that it was, actually, the Indian girl's work. And my first instinct was this: I've been grading this too harshly! I want to be nicer to the Indian girl! I don't feel proud about any of this and I don't pretend to know all that has gone into this reaction but I do know that I wish these essays would go ahead and grade themselves.

1 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!