Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2011-06-22 - 10:02 a.m.

Six miles on the bike yesterday, all hills and hot, wet lungfuls of air. Eight miles today, if I can find the water bottle. Watched The Godfather last night, which is as good as absolutely everyone has always said it is. There's a lot going on in those two and a half hours and I can see now from where Al Pacino comes. It's like reading Shakespeare for the first time, or some of the Bible stories. You see where so many other things come from. It's the first modern gangster movie.

Also, the first deck tomato got eaten last night. All deep ruby-red flesh, sweet, and not too many seeds. And USA-Panama tonight. And thanks, everyone, for reading my essay and thanks for the encouragement. And U2's in town tonight, so I'll have to drive through the west side, which means potholes and teenagers on bikes too small for them and corner bars that sell draft beers for eighty cents. And, alas, another dream last night about a girl who I think goes to Cornell now.

Summer solstice yesterday, too, the light blue that goes to blue blue and finally to deep, deep blue, in a lovely dance that takes several beautiful hours.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!