Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2011-05-17 - 11:51 a.m.

I'm reading Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale now. I've got my fingers crossed, but after 80 pages, it's just about the best thing I've read maybe in five years. She's created such a world, narrated in this voice that convinces you that hope is a pinpoint of light way, way down the hall. It's harrowing and I'm totally captivated.

Leaving soon for the university. Picking up finals. Over the past two weeks, twice I've run into the same former student. She is a hipster girl now working downtown, and very pretty. Each time, she's called me by my first name.

I am getting very close with the book. Down to the last few chapters. I hope it's good. I'm on the part now where I'm 18 and about not to be a virgin anymore. First years of college are supposed to be whirlwinds, I know, but mine felt especially chaotic. Lots of drugs, some sex, some police, not much booze, people failing classes and heading back to wherever they came from. Except for one of them, I've never seen any of those people since that year. But getting down their details--their baseball hats, their catchphrases, their smells, their walks--has brought them back to life, for a little bit.

1 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!