Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2011-02-17 - 10:22 a.m.

Went to a play last night. There's a nice theater just six blocks away, and it's got good actors and they were doing a Pinter play and what's my problem that I've never seen a Pinter play before? It was great. There's only one woman in the play, and she's English but has moved with her husband to America and is now visiting England again. Before she left for America, America was what she wanted. Now that she lives in America, England is what she wants, and it struck me, beyond all the other big things happening in that play, how the grass-is-greener urge is so strong. That constant wanting, the urge to make it four percent better: what's that about? I do not know. A restlessness, I suppose, inherent and incurable.

Unrelated: there is a set of giant radio telescopes in the flat stretches of New Mexico that is called the Very Large Array. That's its official name. The Very Large Array looks at weird things very far away from us and I think all of it--the name, the mission, the look of these giant dishes pointed up at the sky--is wonderful.

1 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!