Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2011-02-09 - 2:09 p.m.

I don't know for sure, but when I hear people say the world's going to shit, I suspect those people are wrong. Maybe the kids these days have faster cars or brighter video games and maybe they get a little drunker, a little more stoned, but other than that, the world keeps on spinning like it always has. The newspaper headlines are weird, sure, but they've always been weird. Some of us are weird, I think, and always have been. There will be kidnappings. There will be awfulness. There will be insanity. I'm reading a memoir now and the author talks about how bizarre San Francisco was in the late nineties, and maybe it was. But maybe he was just weird and therefore found more weirdness like a moth finds a lightbulb.

What I'm saying is that I have no patience with people who talk about kids these days. It's not the kids. It's everything, if you want to blame something. Sure, the world's faster now, and brighter, and more artifically sweet. But kids will be kids just as adults will be adults. You've just got to pay attention a little harder, is all.

I've been quiet for a bit now. I'm on page 270 of 330. Editing, fixing, striking words, inserting better analogies. Yesterday, I tried to re-describe the feeling a fifteen-year-old boy gets when a pretty girl touches his arm. That was fun. Also, I've been watching Deadwood. Cocksuckers.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!