Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2010-10-05 - 12:03 p.m.

Most of my friends are brilliant in one way or four ways and my friend Dwayne is brilliant in six or seven. Dwayne is a trained chef, expert on everything from French to what he calls Dirty Mexican. He is an excellent teacher, the kind of person who can walk in to an inner-city classroom and command attention, elicit responses, make learning happen. He fly fishes, he sails, he reads Great Books, he drew flyers for punk shows in the late nineties.

But he's cashing in now, as is his right and as seems to be in the order of things. He's got a house, two cars, a wife, a daughter on the way. And when he sent out the photo of himself a few months ago, where he's sitting in an office and wearing a headset, doing some kind of online training, he knew what it said. He wrote, on the photo, "This is the new reality, people."

I thought of this photo just now, as I was getting lunch in the cafeteria across the hall here. I got to the soup, and I saw that they had my two favorites today: French onion and Italian wedding. And I was, for a moment, torn. And then I thought: I need to go for a real long bike ride. And then I thought: fuck.

1 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!