Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2010-09-25 - 2:56 p.m.

I like stories in which the main character has got one thing that's exceptional. So I've been kicking around ideas: a guy who's very tall, abnormally tall, three floors of tall. It's always things that are just outside the realm of possible, like someone who's 30 percent faster than anyone on the planet.

What I toy with is mainly physical stuff but I've been wondering what would happen if you started messing with abilities that are harder to see? I don't want to go the route of comic books. These skills are less flashy. It might look something like this:

Pick one:
- The ability to speak 50 languages, fluently.
- To wake up and be 50 percent more attractive.
- To wake up and be 50 percent smarter.
- The ability to get anyone to like you, or love you.
- The ability to read very, very quickly.
- The ability to remember every narrative you've ever encountered.
- To play a dozen instruments very, very well.
- Total, accurate recall, from your entire life.

It's a lot like playing the lottery game, where you divide up your riches, giving some to family, some to charity. The ability to think about these hypothetical riches is, I suppose, one of the things humans have been doing forever. I remember, as a little kid, thinking about what I'd do with three wishes. The capacity for want, it seems, just goes on and on. Perhaps the unlikeliest feat, then, would be this one:

- The ability not to want.

3 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!