Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2010-07-12 - 3:16 p.m.

Times are hard all around, maybe. A good friend just sent me a note that said, "Got your email. Having a hard time lately. Talk soon." A friend of a friend tried to kill herself over the weekend. She's OK for now but it shook up a lot of people. These things affect others, these personal pains, these deep shakings, these ruptures of rock that make everything else slide down, too.

David Foster Wallace said this, about his book Infinite Jest: "I wanted to do something about what it's like to live in America around the millenium.... There's something particularly sad about it, that doesn't have very much to do with physical circumstances, or the economy, or any of the stuff that gets talked about in the news. It's more like a stomach-level sadness. Whether it's unique to our generation I really don't know."

I suspect that it's not unique to his generation, no. There will always be sadness, huh? Like there will always be hot summers, or like there will always be good, crisp apples but also mushy ones that you throw into the woods after the first bite. I guess you've just got to hope there will be more crisp ones. I, for one, for now, still have a line on the good stuff.

1 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!