Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2010-04-28 - 11:35 a.m.

I just finally started reading The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter and already, in the first few pages, you can see the thing at work that makes most books work: the feeling of being enveloped by a confident, sure voice that feels as if it has always been there, will always be there, was handed down from some high place where stories live. I really like that, about good books: that you can pull it down, tipping the top half of the spine towards you, and from then on it's you inserted into a world that has always, always existed. They say that when you start a business, you'd better be satisfying a need, right? That's why books will never die, because they satisfy a need to be enveloped, I think. The enveloping need? Sure.

Also, that title. Man! The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter. Straight bad-ass title. It's a short declarative sentence, and a true statement. Of course she's dead-on right about that.

And, since it's fresh in my mind, it kills me, some of the girls in these college classes. They're heartachingly everything. There are a few, every semester, who just make aches happen, and there's no getting around that like there's no getting around green leaves in April.

2 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!