Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2010-01-26 - 4:40 p.m.

The best hip hop makes you feel as if you could walk through walls, as if the hood on your hoodie is cloak enough for whatever's out there, as if the world is just a stage for whatever spit and fire and scowl and swagger you've got inside of you. A lot of it doesn't quite get there or else is an approximation, but when it all works, it is the best thing for particular moments, like how ice water is the best thing for some moments and how a nap is just right for others.

This is all by way of saying that I got this album called Blakroc and while I like some of it, it's a little sloppy and doesn't quite scratch the itch. Really what I want is dark, urban symphonies when I listen to hip hop. Maybe that's setting the bar too high.

That's what's new. Otherwise, I'm still trying to nail this business about my hometown. There are many details from which to choose. Deer-hunting is one. Fishing for trout: brown, golden, rainbow, but especially brook. When I was older, we got drunk and inhaled nitrous oxide in fields, a balloon in my hand and my eyes red and my lungs tightening because of the grass. That's kind of how it went.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!