Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2009-04-16 - 2:25 a.m.

Fighting a cold but I think I can see the other side. Got home from work today and all I could do was heat up some tomato soup and then take a long nap. It's 2:25 in the morning here and I'm awake, playing chess against the computer and the computer's winning. The girlfriend's deep into the Twilight books and she's got book three of four on her lap, opened. She's sound asleep, breathing softly and evenly. I'm jealous.

Drove up to State College, Pa. this past weekend, for some good family time. On the way up, and back, I listened to the Beatles. And here's the thing about the Beatles. Some of their songs, they're like love. I like them so much, it's irrational. Listening to Hey Jude or to Lady Madonna or Across the Universe, I've heard them so many times and they're still not old and listening to them fills me with melody and bass lines and Paul's giddiness and John's soulful sadness and listening to these songs also fills me with so many memories, so many previous selves, that they are somehow larger than the rental car, larger than Interstate 83 North, larger than me or whatever I can bring. These songs, they're everywhere, bigger than everything, and I'm glad they exist. Such wonder, out there in the world, if you can keep your ears open wide enough. There are others like me, I bet.

Behind on grading, as usual. Four stories to read and mark up and comment on. Semester's winding down, though. They go so fast.

Forty-one degrees, the computer says. Two thirty-three in the morning now. April 16 now, the day after taxes are due. Numbers, keeping us in check, ticking along, marking us along these paths.

1 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!