Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2008-10-14 - 3:53 p.m.

Lately I've been waking up not knowing what day it is. Just no idea at all: is it a weekend day? Can I sleep in and wake up and have a leisurely cup of coffee in my underwear? Answer: Don't know. Is it a Tuesday, like today, during which my routine is to hit the snooze button three times and as a result rush around in my underwear, sipping at hot coffee and spilling some on the floors if I get any coffee at all? Answer: No idea. It's liberating, sometimes terrifying, and often makes for a confusing first thirty seconds of my day.

I put together a quick TOC of my book, to see where I stand. I've got 29 or so chapters, about half somewhat done. The rest are amalgamations of things (a fight here, a fight two years later, that sort of business) or totally abandoned three- or four-paragraph sprints that I was excited about for a little while. The good news is that I've got more done that I thought I did. Still a lot of work, of course, but the bright door at the end of the dark tunnel doens't seem so impossibly far off any more.

And so, I'll go and drink some beer tonight with friends at The Dizz: six-dollar pitchers of Stella.

I may get an all-expenses-paid trip to Scranton in the spring, to do a reading. I'm excited. I get a room, a dinner in my honor, and a chance to see Scranton. I like The Office, a lot.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!