Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2006-05-18 - 5:10 p.m.

The other day, at my girlfriend's apartment, I pulled out the fresh copy of The World According to Garp I'd just got in the mail that day. It's a small paperback, a trade paperback, compact. It would fit in your back jeans pocket: fat and hard and just right if you don't mind whanging up the covers when you're doing your walking and sitting.

I smelled the book. It was a fresh book, very crisp in every aspect. It seemed like the right thing to do. Then, to get it into my nose, into my face, I flipped the pages as I sniffed in. Then I walked over to my girlfriend. She was sitting at her computer. I put the book under her nose. I said, "What's this remind you of?" I flipped the pages. And she said, "Bookfair. Elementary school." That's what I'd hoped she'd say.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!