Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me Photos older entries newest entry

2006-01-17 - 10:45 p.m.

I like small moments in songs. I like it when bass lines drop from the sky or when drums crash. I often listen to songs for the small moments when magical things happen. �Let Down� is a close second, but I�ll pick �Airbag� from Radiohead�s OK Computer. I�ve been listening to it a lot lately, on the morning drive. �Airbag� is, for me, a string of moments packed in tight. The opening guitar hits and strikes like cold water on the chest. The looped beat comes next and though I�ve tried many times to get the air drumming right, I cannot. It�s at the end of the song, though, after Thom Yorke talks about how the airbag saved his life and about how he�s been given a second chance, about how he�s �back to save the universe,� that all the moments come together. Because that�s when the opening guitar and the crazy drum beat make room for Yorke�s angelic moaning that�s ecstatic because he almost just died right there and shit, man, he�s got the floor and no one�s going to stop him. And I, listening to the sound of the second chance, get goose bumps every time, a beautiful moment with me in between the headphones, my whole goddamn universe, in that moment, ripe for the saving.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!